WBN Fighter of the Year 2017 voting update: GGG in commanding position

wbn award 800 World Boxing News WBN Fighter of the Year

The 2017 Fighter of the Year voting remains a one-horse race as middleweight king Gennady Golovkin continues to pull away from Vasyl Lomachenko in the poll.

Three-time WBN Fighter of the Year winner Golovkin, who took the trophy in 2013, 2014, and 2015, is approaching 7,000 votes and leads the Ukrainian, who won last year’s award, by over two and a half thousand votes.

Heavyweight king Anthony Joshua has moved into the third spot – just ahead of former British champion and now current unified world belt-holder Ryan Burnett.

Terence Crawford is fifth.

The rest of the pack has fallen away, with the voting set to end next week.


Other nominees for the award include Billy Joe Saunders for his dominant win over David Lemieux recently, joining the now-retired Andre Ward on the list for his repeat win over Sergey Kovalev.

Also, current multi-weight world belt-holder Mikey Garcia.

Wanheng Menayothin finds his name among the 2017 elite for reaching a milestone 49-0, whilst heavyweight puncher Deontay Wilder impressed this year with another two stoppage wins. It was the American WBC champion’s crushing first-round victory over Bermane Stiverne that sealed the nod, though.

Srisaket Sor Rungvisai‘s shock double triumph over Roman Gonzalez means the Thai fighter is among the elite this year on merit.

Rounding off the voting is the current unified 147-pound number one Keith Thurman, who took Danny Garcia’s ‘0’ and WBC strap way back in January.