Frampton unification ruled out, IBF would consider ranking Quigg for title challenge
As talk of a long-awaited agreement between super bantamweights Carl Frampton and Scott Quigg continues to do the rounds, the International Boxing Federation have informed WBN that any fight will definitely not be unification.
As Frampton holds the IBF version and Quigg the WBA ‘regular’ title, Chairman Lindsey Tucker outlined that only the Belfast man’s belt would be up for grabs in any clash as his body don’t recognise his UK rival’s championship.
“We can clarify that Scott Quigg cannot unify the super bantamweight titles with Carl Frampton,” Tucker exclusively told World Boxing News.
“The last time I checked, Guillermo Rigondeaux was the WBA Super Champion and that is the only title we recognise for a unification. The way things are right now with Quigg being ‘regular’ champion, we would not approve a unification.”
Asked whether Quigg would be given a sufficient ranking by the IBF in order to challenge for Frampton’s title should he ditch his own WBA championship, Tucker replied: “That’s a possibility. I’m not the Ratings Chairman, but I suspect Quigg could be ranked for that fight.”
The ways things stand, either Frampton or Quigg would be forced to give up their titles in order to secure what would be massive event at a neutral venue in the UK, although it could just prove another stumbling block in prolonged and painstaking negotiations between both sides.
In the past, agreements over the split have hindered talks considerably, whilst Quigg’s promoter Eddie Hearn believes the fight is closer than ever following an admission from his fighter to WBN that he has offered Frampton a bigger slice of the purse.