Awards 2017: The Nominees

Ahead of the twelve-man shortlist announcement for Fighter of the Year 2017, WBN can reveal nominees and two winners for the other eight awards on offer.

There’s no doubting this year was one of the best in recent memory as several massive contests came to fruition and boxing was never far from the sporting headlines.

Before we share 2017’s nominees. here’s a look at last year’s recipients for 2016:

WBN Readers’ Fighter of the Year 2016: Vasyl Lomachenko (37%)

Editor’s choice (Fighter of the Year): Vasyl Lomachenko

WBN Fight of the Year: Francisco Vargas v Orlando Salido (June)

WBN Young Fighter of the Year (23 under): Kosei Tanaka

Pound for Pound breakthrough: Vasyl Lomachenko

Stoppage of 2016: Vasyl Lomachenko (v Roman Martinez June 11)

Trainer of the Year: Arnulfo Obando (posthumously)

Comeback of 2016: Manny Pacquiao

World title prospect of 2017: Errol Spence Jr. (World title in May 2017)

The nominees for 2017 are…

Editor’s choice – Fighter of the Year

Anthony Joshua
Gennady Golovkin
Terence Crawford
Vasyl Lomachenko
Andre Ward
Srisaket Sor Rungvisai

ward hbo win

Credit: David Spagnolo

Fight of the Year

Juan Estrada v Carlo Cuadras
Anthony Joshua v Wladimir Klitschko
James DeGale v Badou Jack
Gennady Golovkin v Canelo Alvarez

joshua klit win lin

Credit: Lawrence Lustig

Young Fighter of the Year (23 under)

Josh Kelly
Daigo Higa
Gervonta Davis
Diego De La Hoya
David Benavidez

Credit: Esther Lin

Pound for Pound Breakthrough

Srisaket Sor Rungvisai
Anthony Joshua
Alexander Usyk

usyk win k2

Credit: K2

Stoppage of 2017

Anthony Joshua v Wladimir Klitschko
Yunier Dorticos v Dmitry Kudryashov
Mikey Garcia v Dejan Zlaticanin
Deontay Wilder v Bermane Stiverne
Chris Eubank Jr. v Avni Yildirim

Credit: Sebastian Heger

Trainer of the Year

Abel Sanchez
Robert McCracken
Anatoly Lomachenko
Brian McIntyre
Robert Garcia

sanchez edmul1

Credit: Ed Mulholland


Comeback of 2017

Floyd Mayweather

World title prospect of 2018

Nicola Adams

WBN Fighter of the Year nominees will be announced on Monday when voting begins