20
Sep
2020

Exclusive: Rigondeaux reacts to Flores NC decision, focused on landing Lomachenko – even at 130

Phil Jay 26/06/2017

Stacey Verbeek

Guillermo Rigondeaux’s has reacted to WBN after his recent win over Moises Flores was officially amended to a No Contest on the Cuban’s record.

‘Rigo’ knocked mandatory challenger Flores out with a blow which seemed to land just after the bell at the end of the first round.

Although Flores made a meal of the punch and rolled around in apparent agony, many thought referee Vic Drakulich would rule the blow illegal and potentially disqualify Rigondeaux.

After several viewings of the footage at ringside, Drakulich stated the punch was legal and the WBA super-bantamweight champion was declared the winner.

Following a week and more of reflection, the Nevada State Athletic Commission have moved to rule the result will be declared void.

“I respect the decision of the Nevada State Athletic Commission but I had no intentions of landing any punches after the bell,” Rigondeaux exclusively told World Boxing News immediately after hearing the decision.

He then stated a fight with Vasyl Lomachenko was the only thing on his mind, rather than any talk of a Flores rematch.

“That is all in the past now. I am ready for Lomachenko at 126 pounds, or even at 130 if they insist on having an advantage over me,” stated Rigo.

flores drakulich yamada

Sumio Yamada

The WBA are expected to order an immediate rematch between Rigondeaux and Flores, who was the stipulated contender and should lobby the WBA to make it official.

With Rigondeaux switching his attention to the Ukrainian superstar, Flores may have to push things further with Gilberto Mendoza should Lomachenko make a u-turn and take up the offer.

Phil Jay is Editor of World Boxing News. Follow on Twitter @PhilDJay