Watch: Heavyweight tournament will crown one champion – WBA

WBA President Gilberto Mendoza has released information regarding the heavyweight division following questions from fans over why there are three champions in each division.

To combat this, Mendoza has began by pledging a tournament for the top division that will eventually see one champion crowned.

Although Mendoza does not confirm that this will mean an end to ‘interim’ or ‘regular’ championships belts, he does end the video by stating ‘The WBA will have only one champion as everybody expects.’

Currently, Tyson Fury, Ruslan Chagaev and Luis Ortiz holds titles with Mendoza’s organisation.

Watch the video below by the World Boxing Association