Skip to content
Home » Usyk vs Joshua 2 gets US TV home with early ring walk time

Usyk vs Joshua 2 gets US TV home with early ring walk time

  • by
  • Featured
  • 3 min read

Usyk vs Joshua 2 will appear on broadcasting in the United States this weekend after a deal got announced at the last minute. However, the start time for the main event is earlier.

Fans worried that an announcement hadn’t come with just over one week until fight night. Fast forward two days, and DAZN has revealed they got the green light to stream outside of the UK.

Sky Sports Box Office had already purchased the British TV rights for a whopping fee and was able to advertise the event for weeks.

Usyk vs Joshua 2 on DAZN

DAZN doesn’t have the same luxury and hopes new subscribers will sign up despite the agreement coming as fight week hits.

Releasing a statement on the details, DAZN detailed the streaming, but it was a main event start time of midday Eastern that caused bewilderment.

Joshua’s last fight in Saudi Arabia against Andy Ruiz Jr. had a UK-geared ring walk time to cater to the British audience on Pay Per View.

Unless there’s been a mistake in the information, the two fighters will be walking to the ring this time around at 8 pm UK time.

“Today, DAZN confirms that it will broadcast the Oleksander Usyk vs. Anthony Joshua heavyweight world title rematch on Saturday, August 20, to subscribers worldwide.

“Usyk vs Joshua 2 will be broadcast in over 190 territories. They include the U.S., Canada, Spain, Germany, Italy, Japan, and Poland (excluding the UK, Ireland, MENA, and Ukraine).

Ring Walk Times

“The main event [card] begins at approximately 9:00 am PST / 12:00 pm EST / 18:00 CET [5 pm UK]. It will be available in both English as well as Polish commentary.”

Both fighters aired their thoughts on final preparations for a colossal match-up for the division’s future.

Usyk said: “I am working hard in my training camp to be in the best shape possible for the rematch.

“With the help of the Lord, I will overcome the biggest challenges to make it happen. I want the crowd to be excited about the fight.

“I want them to remember it for a lifetime.”

Joshua added: “August 20 will be an unbelievable night of Championship level boxing.

“For any sports fan, this is not to be missed. It has all the ingredients to go down in boxing history.”

Usyk vs Joshua 2

One of the biggest heavyweight rematches in the sport’s history, the ‘Rage on the Red Sea’ will see Joshua (24-2, 22 KOs) looking to avenge his defeat in September 2021 by Usyk (19-0, 13 KOs).

The champion is putting his WBA, IBF, WBO, and IBO belts on the line in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. It’s a career-defining clash.

Usyk vs Joshua 2 will be shown live on Sky Sports Box Office from Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, on August 20. DAZN broadcasts everywhere else except the countries mentioned.

Follow WBN: Facebook @officialworldboxingnews.Twitter @worldboxingnews.