Skip to content
Home » Floyd Mayweather or Manny Pacquiao – who beat the most world champs?

Floyd Mayweather or Manny Pacquiao – who beat the most world champs?

WBN looks at who beat the most world champions out of Floyd Mayweather and Manny Pacquiao.

Mayweather and Pacquiao represent two of the greatest boxers to grace the ring. It’s merely our luck that we had them campaigning around the same time in history.

Which of the pair defeated the most world champions during their tenure is a question asked worldwide.

Mayweather began his career after an Olympic bronze medal in October of 1996. Pacquiao had already been a pro for 21 months after entering the paid ranks as a teenager in 1995.

Enjoying tremendous careers, Mayweather retired in 2015, with Pacquiao bowing out in 2021.

The same year we saw the last of the ‘Pacman,’ an opportunity arose to defeat another world champion. Firstly, it was Errol Spence who Yordenis Ugas eventually replaced.

Floyd Mayweather, Manny Pacquiao

Victory over either would have brought Pacquiao level with Mayweather.

In 2020, Mayweather predicted that Pacquiao would overtake his mark after witnessing a win over Keith Thurman live.

As it happened, Pacquiao lost to Ugas and stepped away, leaving Mayweather with the honor of 23 world champions beaten.

Arguments over rematch triumphs over familiar opponents have come to the table on many forums. But even then, Mayweather tops Pacquiao on 25.

Pacquiao has 21 victories over world champions. 24 if you count his second and third battles with foes.

WBN initially thought Pacquiao was above Mayweather in an article written a few years back. We soon had to apologize as you should never second-guess the “Money” man.

Mayweather counted two victories that flew under our radar if you go through both records with a fine-tooth comb.

His victory over Gregorio Vargas, the WBC champion for a brief spell of eight months in 1993, was rarely mentioned. As with Tony Pep, who was IBO champion two years before facing Mayweather in 1998.

Pacquiao needed one more win to level up the score.

Floyd Mayweather WBC Convention 2021


Tony Pep
Genaro Hernandez
Gregorio Vargas
Diego Corrales
Carlos Hernandez
Jesus Chavez
Jose Luis Castillo (twice)
DeMarcus Corley
Arturo Gatti
Sharmba Mitchell
Zab Judah
Carlos Baldomir
Oscar De La Hoya
Ricky Hatton
Juan Manuel Marquez
Shane Mosley
Victor Ortiz
Miguel Cotto
Robert Guerrero
Canelo Alvarez
Marcos Maidana (twice)
Manny Pacquiao
Andre Berto

Manny Pacquiao Legend Thank you


Chatchai Sasakul
Lehlohonolo Ledwaba
Jorge Julio
Marco Antonio Barrera (twice),
Erik Morales (twice)
Oscar Larios
Juan Manuel Marquez (twice)
David Diaz
De La Hoya
Ricky Hatton
Miguel Cotto
Joshua Clottey
Antonio Margarito
Shane Mosley
Brandon Rios
Timothy Bradley (should be twice)
Chris Algieri
Jessie Vargas
Lucas Matthysse
Adrien Broner
Keith Thurman

WBN Editor Phil has over ten years of boxing news experience. Follow WBN on Facebook @officialworldboxingnews and Twitter @worldboxingnews.