Claressa Shields among winners at 94th BWAA Awards in New York

RINGSIDE 01/06/2019

📷 Stephanie Trapp

The SHOWTIME Sports family was well-represented at tonight’s Boxing Writers Association of America Annual Awards Dinner with several members of our team taking home honors at the 94th awards ceremony.

Stephen Espinoza accepted the Sam Taub Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism. Presenting to Espinoza was Brian Custer, the host of SHOWTIME CHAMPIONSHIP BOXING.

Claressa Shields took the Christy Martin Award for Female Fighter of the Year. Shields fought twice in 2018 on SHOWTIME, defending her 168-pound titles in January before moving down in weight to become a two-division world champion in June.

Shields fought two additional times in 2018 before facing Christina Hammer for the undisputed middleweight world championship in April of 2019.

Steve Brener, the President of Brener Zwikel & Associates, accepted the Marvin Kohn Good Guy Award alongside longtime boxing publicist Ray Stallone and Nonito Donaire.

Accepting the award on behalf of Brener was Hall of Famer Steve Farhood, a longtime analyst, ringside scorer and historian for the network.

Last but not least, Jarrett Hurd and Erislandy Lara were honored with the Ali-Frazier Award for Fight of the Year for their instant-classic last April on SHOWTIME.


SHOWTIME CHAMPIONSHIP BOXING Executive Producer David Dinkins Jr. accepted and presented the award on behalf of Hurd and Lara.

Congrats to all of tonight’s award winners!