Skip to content
Home » Simone DaSilva wins first ever female Roy Jones event on UFC Fight Pass

Simone DaSilva wins first ever female Roy Jones event on UFC Fight Pass

  • by
  • Uncategorized
  • 3 min read

Last night, nine-time world title challenger Simone Da Silva registered the most significant victory of her pro boxing career, stunning Ikram Kerwat in the first female main event ever streamed live on RJJ Boxing on UFC Fight Pass®, at Casino Del Sol’s outdoor AVA Amphitheater in Tucson, Arizona.

Kerwat vs. Da Silva was presented by Roy Jones Jr. (RJJ) Boxing.

DaSilva, fighting out of Brazil, out-boxed her Tunisian opponent, the Germany-based, Roy Jones, Jr.-trained Kerwat (9-2, 5 KOs), en route to a one-sided 10-round decision (100-90, 99-91, 98-92).

In the co-featured event, rising Las Vegas star Max “The Baby Face Assassin” Ornelas (13-0-1, 5 KOs) kept his unbeaten pro record intact, stopping veteran Mexican super bantamweight Alex “Xhino” Rangel (17-10-4, 4 KOs) in the opening round.

The 21-year-old Ornelas, a criminal justice major at the University of Nevada at Las Vegas, is the reigning North American Boxing Association (NABA) United States bantamweight champion.

In a Special Welterweight Attraction, Tucson’s Alfonso Olvera (11-5-3, 4 KOs) and San Antonio’s Carlos “Silk” Villa (14-3-2, 6 KOs) battled to a six-round split draw.

A middleweight match between undefeated Arizona prospects, Tucson’s Nicholas Rhoads (5-0-1, 2 KOs) and Eduardo Ayala (4-0-1, 1 KO), ended in a four-round split draw.

Off-FIGHT PASS in the first fight of the night, undefeated Kazakhstan super welterweight Madiyar Asjkeyev (12-0, 6 KOs), fighting out of Oxnard, California, out-classed Maryland’s Cecil McCalla (21-4, 8 KOs) for a 10-round unanimous decision to capture the vacant North American Boxing Federation (NABF) super welterweight crown.

In a battle of Tucson middleweights, Jose “Raging Bull” Pena (3-1, 1 KO) won a four-round unanimous decision over Arturo Resendiz (2-1, 2 KOs).



Simone DaSilva (16-12, 6 KOs), Sao Vincente, Sao Paulo, Brazil
WDEC10 (100-90, 99-91, 98-92)
Ikram Kerwat (9-2, 5 KOs), Frankfurt, Germany by way of Tunisia

Max Ornelas (13-0-1, 5 KOs), Las Vegas, NV.
WTKO1 (1:24)
Alex Rangel (17-10-4, 4 KOs), Cuidad Obregon, Sonora, Mexico

Madiyar Asjkeyev (12-0, 6 KOs), Oxnard, CA by way of Kazakhstan
WDEC10 (98-92, 98-92, 97-93)
Cecil McCalla (21-4, 8 KOs), Randallstown, MD
(Asjkeyev won NABF super Welterweight title)

Alfonso Olvera (11-5-3, 4 KOs), Tucson, AZ by way of Mexico
D6 (58-56, 57-57, 56-58)
Carlos Villa (14-3-2, 6 KOs), San Antonio, TX

Nicholas Rhoads (5-0-1, 2 KOs), Tucson, AZ
D4 (39-37, 38-38, 37-39)
Eduardo Ayala (4-0-1 1 KO), 4-0, 1 KO), Phenix, AZ

Jose Pena (3-1, 1 KO), Tucson, AZ
WDEC4 (39-36, 38-37, 38-37)
Arturo Resendiz (2-1, 2 KOs), Tucson, AZ