26
Jun
2019

Medical issue sees Sakio Bika pulled from Peterson v Lipinets bill

Ringside 23/03/2019
Sakio Bika

📸 Tom Casino

The match between former middleweight champion Sakio Bika and Lionell Thompson has been removed from the Premier Boxing Champions on FS1 card on Sunday at MGM Grand National Harbor in Maryland.

The fight was taken off of the card after the Maryland State Athletic Commission discovered Bika had a medical issue during his pre-fight examination on Friday.

As a result, the eight-round fight between unbeaten super featherweight prospect Cobia Breedy (12-0, 4 KOs) and Fernando Fuentes (14-7-1, 4 KOs) will now open the FS1 prelims, which begin at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.

The FS1 prelims broadcast will also feature Brandon Quarles (21-4-1, 10 KOs) battling Kansas-native Aaron Coley (15-2-1, 7 KOs) in an eight-round middleweight bout, plus Baltimore’s Lorenzo Simpson (2-0, 2 KOs) taking on Jaime Meza (pro debut) in a four-round super middleweight attraction.

The event is headlined by two-division world champion Lamont Peterson taking on former junior welterweight world champion Sergey Lipinets in a 12-round welterweight match that headlines PBC on FS1 and FOX Deportes beginning at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

INFO

Tickets for the event, which is promoted by TGB Promotions and HeadBangers Promotions, are on sale now and can be purchased by visiting www.mgmnationalharbor.com/.

Your SEO optimized title