Michael Dasmarinas, Kenny Demecillo headline ‘Rising Stars’ on March 23

RINGSIDE 25/02/2019

Future world beaters Michael Dasmarinas and Kenny Demecillo battle it out for the right to challenge for the IBF World bantamweight title in “Rising Stars” at the Resorts World Manila on March 23.

An additional 10 bouts complete the card which includes another title eliminator for the IBF minimum-weight title. Prodigious Rene Mark Cuarto 16-1-1 (9 KOs), hot on a 13-win streak, faces 21-year-old and unbeaten Samuel Salva, 16-0 (10 KOs).

The ambitious project presented by MP Promotions and Ringstar Asia hopes to find the next legendary fighter coming from this side of the world.

Hall of Famer Manny Pacquiao of MP Promotions, still active at 40, joined Ringstar Asia head Scott Patrick Farrell and Resorts World Manila executives in making the event happen, optimistic that the project can bring out the best fighters from the region.

“We are ecstatic to present this “Rising Stars” project. With our friends in the world of boxing, we could direct young and promising boxers to the right direction and become world champions, themselves,” said Pacquiao, the only boxer in history to win titles in eight different divisions.

In a clash of two 26-year-old fighters, Dasmarinas, 28-2-1 (19 KO) stakes his 10-match win streak against “Big Heart” Demecillo,14-4-2, (8KOs). Both have prepared well and are all set for next month’s big event at the spacious Newport Mall of Resorts World Manila.

“Working with Senator Manny Pacquiao and his promotion leaders, Joe Ramos and Sean Gibbons is a real honor. Our focus together is to unite Asia through boxing onto one super fight platform,” said Farrell, who hopes to include world-class fights, the highest broadcast production quality for the fans, sponsors and partners.

Other matches include:

Featherweight: Muhamad Ridhwan vs Cris Leon

Junior flyweights: Ronnie Balnonado vs Elias Joaquino

Junior welterweight: Lei Wang vs Adam Diu Abdulhamid

Junior bantamweight: Aries Buenavidez vs Lony Cadayday

Flyweight: Juston Darap vs Enrique Magsalin

Minimumweight: Jayson Brillo vs Joel Cago

Flyweight: Raymark Jay Ibones vs Henry Lumanan

Junior bantamweight: Luis Borje vs Bernie Aday