22
Mar
2019

Ex-world champ Charles Martin faces undefeated foe on Spence v Garcia

RINGSIDE 23/02/2019

Former heavyweight world champion Charles Martin will square off against unbeaten Dallas-native Gregory Corbin in a 10-round bout on Premier Boxing Champions Prelims on FS1 leading up to the Errol Spence Jr. vs. Mikey Garcia PBC on FOX Sports Pay-Per-View event Saturday, March 16 from AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

Prelims begin at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT and will lead up to the pay-per-view event at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT that is headlined by unbeaten IBF Welterweight World Champion Errol “The Truth” Spence Jr. defending his title against undefeated four-division champion Mikey Garcia in a highly anticipated and historic showdown.

Tickets for this showdown, which is promoted by TGB Promotions and Ringstar Sports, are on sale now, and can be purchased at SeatGeek.com, the Official Ticketing Provider of AT&T Stadium.

Born in St. Louis but now fighting and training out of Southern California, Martin (25-2-1, 23 KOs) showed heavy hands in racking up 20 knockouts in 23 fights before he captured a heavyweight world title with a victory over Vyacheslav Glazkov in January 2016.

The 32-year-old bounced back from a defeat against Anthony Joshua to score two stoppage victories before losing a close decision to unbeaten Adam Kownacki in September.

Fighting out of his hometown of Dallas, Corbin (15-0, 9 KOs) will look to remain unbeaten in front of a friendly crowd.

The 38-year-old has stopped five of his last six opponents, including his most recent victory over Homero Fonseca in August. He will fight in his home state for the ninth time as a pro on March 16.

Your SEO optimized title