Skip to content
Home » Divisional Rankings Update (Jan 2019): Top 5 boxers in each division

Divisional Rankings Update (Jan 2019): Top 5 boxers in each division

  • by
  • 3 min read

The Divisional Top 5 Rankings for each division from minimumweight to heavyweight and Women boxers have been updated for 2019.

In the top division, Tyson Fury remains the leader of the pack following his outstanding comeback from the brink of destruction.

Fury claimed the WBN Fighter of the Year Award for his efforts following an impressive draw with Deontay Wilder.

For his part, Wilder is now level with four-belt ruler Anthony Joshua.

Oleksandr Usyk is still at the helm of the cruiserweight division despite moving up to heavyweight. Until his first bout is confirmed, the Ukrainian keeps his place.

The only changes at 175 pounds see Oleksandr Gvozdyk at the top spot, with Marcus Browne breaking into the top five after beating Badou Jack.

168 and 160 pounds are largely unaltered with Callum Smith and Canelo. While at 154 Tony Harrison is now rated at number two.

Manny Pacquiao is back at the summit of the welterweight division. Mikey Garcia remains head at 140 until his future poundage becomes clearer.

Vasyl Lomachenko, Leo Santa Cruz and Naoya Inoue are among the leaders at the lower weights.

WBN Women’s Fighter of the Year, Cecilia Braekhus begins the New Year where she left off.


  1. Tyson Fury
  2. A. Joshua / D. Wilder
  3. Kubrat Pulev
  4. Dillian Whyte
  5. Luis Ortiz


  1. Oleksandr Usyk
  2. Mairis Briedis
  3. Murat Gassiev
  4. Krzysztof Glowacki
  5. Yunier Dorticos


  1. Oleksandr Gvozdyk
  2. Eleider Alvarez
  3. Dmitry Bivol
  4. Artur Beterbiev
  5. Marcus Browne


  1. Callum Smith
  2. Gilberto Ramirez
  3. James DeGale
  4. George Groves
  5. Jose Uzcategui


  1. Canelo Alvarez
  2. Gennady Golovkin
  3. Daniel Jacobs
  4. Billy Joe Saunders
  5. Jermall Charlo


  1. Jarrett Hurd
  2. Tony Harrison
  3. Jermell Charlo
  4. Jaime Munguia
  5. Brian Castano


  1. Manny Pacquiao
  2. Terence Crawford
  3. Errol Spence
  4. Keith Thurman
  5. Shawn Porter


  1. Mikey Garcia
  2. Maurice Hooker
  3. Jose Ramirez
  4. Regis Prograis
  5. Ivan Baranchyk


  1. Vasyl Lomachenko
  2. Gervonta Davis
  3. Robert Easter Jr.
  4. Anthony Crolla
  5. Luke Campbell


  1. Miguel Berchelt
  2. Abner Mares
  3. Alberto Machado
  4. Tevin Farmer
  5. Francisco Vargas


  1. Leo Santa Cruz
  2. Gary Russell Jr.
  3. Josh Warrington
  4. Oscar Valdez
  5. Carl Frampton


  1. Guillermo Rigondeaux
  2. Rey Vargas
  3. Danny Roman
  4. Luis Nery
  5. Emmanuel Navarette


  1. Naoya Inoue
  2. Zolani Tete
  3. Manny Rodriguez
  4. Takuma Inoue
  5. Nordine Oubaali


  1. Donnie Nietes
  2. Srisaket Sor Rungvisai
  3. Roman Gonzalez
  4. Juan Estrada
  5. Jerwin Ancajas


  1. Kosei Tanaka
  2. Moruti Mthalane
  3. Sho Kimura
  4. Charlie Edwards
  5. Artem Dalakian


  1. Ken Shiro
  2. Felix Alvarado
  3. Hiroto Kyoguchi
  4. Angel Acosta
  5. Hekkie Budler


  1. Wanheng Menayothin
  2. Knockout CP Freshmart
  3. Simphiwe Khonco
  4. Vic Saludar
  5. Tsubasa Koura


  1. Cecilia Braekhus
  2. Claressa Shields
  3. Katie Taylor
  4. Delfine Persoon
  5. Christina Hammer