Skip to content
Home » WBC confirm sanctioning of Wilder v Fury II, mandatory on hold

WBC confirm sanctioning of Wilder v Fury II, mandatory on hold

  • by
  • 3 min read

The WBC has approved an immediate rematch between heavyweight stars Deontay Wilder and Tyson Fury.

The pair shared an amazing twelve-round fight last Saturday in Los Angeles, and both want to do it again.

Wilder v Fury ended a draw following what was an enthralling contest. Fury largely dominated, although Wilder had the equalizer on more than one occasion.

Down in the ninth and twelfth, almost out in the latter, Fury survived to hold considerable gripes over the decision.

With mandatory challenger Dominic Breazeale waiting in the wings, the WBC released a statement confirming nothing will stop a second Wilder v Fury fight.

“The World Boxing Council conducted a voting through the Board of Governors, which resulted in a unanimous agreement to sanction a direct rematch between WBC heavyweight champion Deontay Wilder and Tyson Fury,” said the WBC.

“Wilder and Fury gave boxing one of the best fights in the heavyweight division in a long time, which has created a tremendous popular demand for the fans to see a rematch.

“The WBC is happy to confirm that a direct rematch has been approved and will create a ruling which will also consider the mandatory status of the division.

“I wish to once again congratulate Deontay Wilder and Tyson Fury for their great battle inside the ring and for the exemplary sportsmanship after the bout.”

Deontay Wilder Tyson Fury


Breazeale is expected to gain his shot, provided he stays undefeated at the back end of 2019.

A summer return is on the cards for Wilder and Fury after the most successful top division contest in the modern era.

Las Vegas and Manchester are the early frontrunners to host, whilst both could eventually be chosen should a trilogy come to fruition.

The news is not good for the top contenders in the WBC rankings as the likes of Dillian Whyte, and Luis Ortiz will have to look elsewhere for a title shot in the short term.

WBC Top 15 Ratings:

1 Dillian Whyte (Jamaica/GB) SILVER
2 Luis Ortiz (Cuba)
3 Tyson Fury (GB) * CBP/P
4 Dominic Breazeale (US)
5 Joseph Parker (New Zealand)
6 Agit Kabayel (Germany) EBU
7 Dereck Chisora (GB)
8 Alexander Povetkin (Russia)
9 Adam Kownacki (US)
10 Kubrat Pulev (Bulgaria)
11 Charles Martin (US)
12 Carlos Takam (Cameroon)
13 Bryant Jennings (US)
14 Oscar Rivas (Colombia/Canada) NABF
15 Sergey Kuzmin (Russia)