Skip to content
Home » Frank Warren scoffs at Warrington v Frampton / Whyte v Chisora PPV talks

Frank Warren scoffs at Warrington v Frampton / Whyte v Chisora PPV talks

Frank Warren has rejected any notion of discussions with Eddie Hearn over a Pay-Per-View compromise on December 22.

The Hall of Fame promoter confirmed his final PPV of the year for the date in question as Josh Warrington defends his IBF featherweight belt against Carl Frampton.

Weeks later, Hearn announced Dillian Whyte v Dereck Chisora’s rematch for the same date. The move was met by groans from fans, although Hearn insisted he had no other alternative.

The Matchroom boss then offered to work out a deal with Warren to ensure both fights didn’t clash for the watching public.

“Wouldn’t it have been more sensible to have staggered dates? Who cares about whether one fights on and one’s on an hour after?” Warren told Boxing Social before answering a direct question on whether they’d be willing agree to alternate main event start times.

“No, we’re not, our show’s on, that’s it. We’re not playing to anybody’s fiddle, we’re on. I’ve no interest in that, the only staggered thing there should have been was another date.

“I’ve got to tell you something, if he had announced for the 22nd of December I would not be putting my two guys on that night, it just would not have happened.

“I would not allow it happen because it’s disrespectful to their earning capacity, I would not have done it,” he added.

Warrington v Frampton and Whyte v Chisora 2 happen at opposite ends of the UK. The former takes place at Manchester Arena in the North, whilst the latter at The O2 in the South.

Some are seeing the night as a direct competition between the two promoters in something of a Blur v Oasis moment in the sport.

Warren claims his card is far superior, although Hearn’s is still a work in process.

Here’s a look at both cards so far:


Mark Heffron v Liam Williams

Nathan Gorman v Alex Leapai

Lyndon Arthur v Emmanuel Feuzeu

Tommy Fury v Jevgenijs Andrejevs

Martin Murray v Hassan N’Dam N’Jikam

Michael Conlan v Jason Cunningham

Paddy Barnes

Danny Wright

Sam Maxwell


Ryan Walsh v Reece Bellotti

Cristofer Rosales v Charlie Edwards

David Price v Tom Little