Skip to content
Home » Gennady Golovkin given hours to agree 42.5% Canelo Alvarez rematch

Gennady Golovkin given hours to agree 42.5% Canelo Alvarez rematch

After standing firm on a 50-50 deal, ‘GGG’ relaxed his position over the weekend and was offered half of his original demand.

Instead of the initial 35%, Golden Boy are willing to give the middleweight king 42.5% of the split but have stipulated Golovkin only has until midday (Pacific Time) on Wednesday 

Should Golovkin fail to agree, it is thought Canelo will then turn to Irishman Gary O’Sullivan or Danny Jacobs for his comeback from the suspension.

Alvarez recently returned to the World Boxing Council ratings for June as the Mexican continues to serve out a six-month ban handed down by the Nevada State Athletic Commission.

The two-weight world champion originally lost out on a lucrative rematch with Gennady Golovkin on May 5 after testing positive for Clenbuterol on two occasions.

Canelo has since been given the full backing of the WBC and was reinstated to the list as promised by President Mauricio Sulaiman.

September 15 is earmarked as the date for round two, just over a month after Canelo’s suspension with the NSAC expires.

Alvarez stands at number one in the rankings as mandatory Jermall Charlo is now the interim title holder.

Charlo will be ordered to face Golovkin should a Canelo deal fall flat again, which is not expected to happen this time around.

Special dispensation was given in order to allow Golovkin and Canelo to finish their feud after a controversial draw last September.

Daniel Jacobs sits at two ahead of a possible IBF title shot, with Demetrius Andrade third, Jason Quigley fourth and Kamil Szeremeta of Poland making up the top five.

WBC Top 20 middleweights (June 2018):

1 Saul Alvarez (Mexico)
2 Daniel Jacobs (US)
3 Demetrius Andrade (US)
4 Jason Quigley (Ireland/US) NABF
5 Kamil Szeremeta (Poland) EBU
6 Roberto Garcia (Mexico-US) SILVER
7 Willie Monroe Jr. (US)
8 Gary O’Sullivan (Ireland)
9 Jack Culcay (Germany)
10 Yamaguchi Falcao (Brazil) LATINO
11 Luis Arias (US)
12 Hugo Centeno, Jr. (US)
13 Immanuwel Aleem (US)
14 Ievgen Khytrov (Ukraine)
15 Esquivia Falcao (Brazil) * CBP/P
16 Tureano Johnson (US)
17 Rob Brant (US)
18 Steve Rolls (Canada)
19 Ruben Diaz (Spain)
20 Yasuyuki Akiyama (Japan) OPBF