WBC President, De La Hoya clear up Canelo drug test situation

canelo de la hoya verbeek

Stacey Verbeek

World Boxing Council President Mauricio Sulaiman has released more information on the current plight of Canelo Alvarez’s involvement with the organization.

In their recently updated ratings, Canelo was omitted from the middleweight list due to a Nevada State Athletic Commission suspension, and Sulaiman has now confirmed the Mexican has refused to be tested until his ban ends in August.

Canelo will not be entered back into the ratings until he enrolls in the WBC Clean Boxing Program. Something promoter Oscar De La Hoya will happen once the former two-weight world champion returns to training.

Speaking on the matter, Sulaiman said: “Canelo has been removed from the rankings because he failed to enroll in the Clean Boxing Program, as stated in the rules.

“(He won’t be allowed to contest a WBC title unless) he enrolls back (into the program) and he is back in the ratings.”

On the other hand, De La Hoya stated Canelo would sign up for random VADA testing once a fight is signed, whether that be against Gennady Golovkin or Gary O’Sullivan.

Golovkin is hopeful the pair can reignite their feud for September, although Canelo may need a warm-up fight (against O’Sullivan) and want to delay the rematch further until May 2019.

Whatever happens, Canelo’s reputation has taken a certain hit, and De La Hoya will have to be on the offensive when it comes to rebuilding his number one fighter for a comeback.

In the meantime, the WBC may order a second fight between Golovkin and Jacobs or, at the very least, a final eliminator involving Demetrius Andrade.

Here’s how the middleweight ratings look without Canelo:

1 Daniel Jacobs (US)
2 Demetrius Andrade (US)
3 Jason Quigley (Ireland/US)
4 David Lemieux (Canada)
5 Kamil Szeremeta (Poland) EBU
6 Roberto Garcia (Mexico-US) SILVER
7 Willie Monroe Jr. (US)
8 Gary O’Sullivan (Ireland) * CBP/P
9 Jack Culcay (Germany)
10 Yamaguchi Falcao (Brazil) LATINO
11 Luis Arias (US)
12 Immanuwel Aleem (US)
13 Ievgen Khytrov (Ukraine)
14 Hugo Centeno, Jr. (US)
15 Hassan N Dam N Jikam (Cameroon) * CBP/P