WBC order Garcia v Linares, Russell v Diaz and Menayothin v Estrada

Ringside 03/01/2018
World Boxing Council Heavyweight

Mauricio Sulaiman has begun 2018 by outlining the current situation regarding mandatories and voluntaries in each division.

In this section of the confirmation, Mr. Sulaiman has stated what will happen from lightweight to minimumweight.

This will affect all the champions from Mikey Garcia to Wanheng Menayothin.

Here’s what Mr. Sulaiman had to say on each matter, with more to follow on the rest of the weight classes.

Lightweight: Champion Mikey Garcia (Mexico-USA) received special permission to fight over the weight in February in a WBC special event.

WBC diamond champion Jorge Linares (Venezuela) will defend his championship in January. Both champions will fight each other immediately after their bouts.

Super featherweight: Champion Miguel Berchelt (Mexico) will fight former champion Cristian Mijares in February, and will then make his mandatory defense.

The WBC is in the process of voting on a request to officially appoint Miguel Roman as mandatory challenger after he knocked out Orlando Salido.

Featherweight: Champion Gary Russell (USA) will defend his title in February, and then make his mandatory defense against JoJo Diaz.

Super bantamweight: Champion Rey Vargas (Mexico) will make a voluntary defense, and then proceed to his mandatory defense.

Bantamweight: Champion Luis Neri (Mexico) will fight the mandated rematch against former champion Shinzuke Yamanaka in March.

Super flyweight: Champion Srisaket Sor Rungvisai (Thailand) will make his mandatory title defense against Juan Estrada in a highly anticipated match in the great promotion named Superfly 2.

Flyweight: Champion Daigo Higa (Japan) will defend his title against Moises Fuentes. A final elimination bout will be ordered to determine the mandatory contender of the division.

Light flyweight: Champion Ken Shiro (Japan) defended his title on December 31st, and will now fight the mandatory challenger, former champion Ganigan Lopez, in a mandated rematch.

Minimumweight: Champion Menayothin (Thailand) will make his mandatory defense against Leroy Estrada from Panama, searching to match Floyd Mayweather Jr.’s record of 50-0.