Gary Russell v Jo Jo Diaz: WBC title fight mandated for May, 2018

WBC 05/10/2017
World Boxing Council Heavyweight

At the fifty fifth World Boxing Council Convention, this year in Baku, Azerbaijan, the Board of Governors discussed and decided mandatory defences for the Champions atop each weight category.

Several bouts have been resolved in all seventeen weight divisions.

Below are the cases from minimumweight to featherweight:

Minimum weight champion Wanheng Menayothin makes a voluntary defence in November. The number one contender remains Leroy Estrada.

In the light flyweight division, champion Ken Shiro fights number one contender Pedro Guevara. The winner of that must then face Ganigan Lopez.

In the flyweight division champion Daigo Higa fights Thomas Masson in a voluntary defence on October 22nd.

In the super flyweight division champion Srisaket Sor Rungvisai requests a voluntary defence before a mandatory against Juan Francisco Estrada.

In the bantamweight division the WBC Clean Boxing Program still has to rule on the findings on a positive test for champion Luis Nery. Number two Emmanuel Rodríguez will fight a final eliminator against third ranked Petch Sor Chitpattana.

In the super bantamweight division, Champion Rey Vargas fights mandatory contender Julio Ceja, who won the final eliminator. Diego De La Hoya ranked at number two and Hugo Ruiz, who’s number three will fight a final eliminator.

At featherweight, champion Gary Russell Jr. fights undefeated mandatory challenger Jo Jo Diaz next. That will be mandated for around May.