19
Apr
2021

Controversy strikes twice as Antonio Margarito beats Carson Jones

Phil Jay 03/09/2017
Carson Jones Antonio Margarito

Antonio Margarito was involved in yet another controversial and bloody battle on Saturday night as the former world champion claimed victory over American slugger Carson Jones.

Seemingly on his way to a possible early loss due to consistent damage to his troublesome eye, Margarito somehow managed to come away triumphant in Chihuahua.

The fight went back and forth from the off, but Jones was getting the better off, the more brutal exchanges and predictably opened up Margarito’s old war wound in the second with an apparent straight right punch.

Doctors immediately jumped on the injury due to Margarito’s previous eye, although ‘The Tijuana Tornado’ was allowed to continue.

Despite Margarito getting in plenty of his shots, Jones looked to more comfortable of the two and was seemingly ahead at the fifth’s midway point.

Margarito was hurt by a right hand at the end of that fifth, which rocked him back before the end of the round was signaled with a full 20 seconds left.

This may have been the first sign of potential alarm for Jones, who looked on his way to a career-best win heading into the second half of the contest.

Margarito remained busy as he blew hard through the sixth and seventh but didn’t have enough to trouble Jones and force him back from an attacking position.

By the end of the seventh, it was all Jones as the Oklahoma man pinned the dogged Margarito on the ropes with seconds remaining and was close to forcing a stoppage.

That’s where everything turned sour for Jones as Margarito was halted by the official on his stool before the eighth could even begin.

Two terrible decisions followed as the blow Jones struck early in the second has wrongly ruled a headbutt, meaning the fight went to the scorecards after seven completed rounds.

The second was scoring as all three judges carded in favor of Margarito 68-64 and 67-65 (twice), leaving Jones a bewildered figure and wondering what had gone down in Mexico.

Hopefully, a review or a rematch on American soil will follow as Jones was a deserved winner and was seemingly robbed of his most excellent night to date.

Phil Jay is Editor of World Boxing News. Follow on Twitter @PhilDJay.

Follow WBN on TWITTER. TIKTOK. FACEBOOK. INSTAGRAM. Subscribe to YOUTUBE.