Skip to content
Home » Rigondeaux drops to 17-0, Flores KO changed to No Contest

Rigondeaux drops to 17-0, Flores KO changed to No Contest

‘Rigo’ knocked mandatory challenger Flores out with a blow which seemed to land just after the bell at the end of the first round.

Although Flores made a meal of the punch and rolled around in apparent agony, many thought referee Vic Drakulich would rule the blow illegal and potentially disqualify Rigondeaux.

After several viewings of the footage at ringside, Drakulich stated the punch was legal and the WBA super-bantamweight champion was declared the winner.

Following a week and more of reflection, the Nevada State Athletic Commission have moved to rule the result will be declared void.

flores drakulich yamada

“Flores was knocked out with a punch as the bell rang, referee ruled it a legal blow. NSAC reversed the referee’s decision and changed the fight to a no contest on 6/26/2017,” said information relayed on BoxRec.

The WBA could now decide an immediate rematch should take place as Rigondeaux drops back to 17-0 and Flores retains his 25-fight undefeated C.V.

Soon after the win, Rigondeaux had pursued a possible catchweight bout with Vasyl Lomachenko, although any thoughts of a super-fight may now have to be pushed to the back of the amateur legend’s mind.

WBN have reached out to the NSAC and WBA President Gilberto Mendoza for comment on the situation.

Phil Jay is Editor of World Boxing News. Follow on Twitter @PhilDJay