Skip to content
Home » The worst scorecard ever or mistaken identity as deserved Ryan Burnett wins world title

The worst scorecard ever or mistaken identity as deserved Ryan Burnett wins world title

In a world-class performance, Burnett overcame several head clashes and two deep gashes to take Lee Haskins’ IBF bantamweight belt.

As the judges totalled the scorecards, nobody could foresee what was to come, especially promoter Eddie Hearn and the Odyssey Arena crowd.

American judge Clark Sammartino must have had the boxers confused as the Rhode Island official astonishing gave Haskins every round, only taking two points off for the knockdowns.

Hearn has called for a review of the cards as Jerry Jakubco and Dave Parris both scored 119-107, with Sammatino’s card reading 118-108 for Haskins.

Earlier, Mike Perez began his cruiserweight run in farcical fashion as the former Prizefighter champion threw hardly threw a punch before his comeback was over.

The 31 year-old has lost 42 pounds in weight since his last fight, a loss at heavyweight against world-rated Alexander Povetkin, and was due to fight Tommy McCarthy until the latter pulled out.

In stepped undefeated Slovakian Viktor Biscak at just a few days notice and with a record of 10-0 to his credit.

As Perez aimed to shake off the ring rust, the Irish-based Cuban had clearly intimidated his opponent pre-fight with his new exceptional physique.

It was apparent from the off the Biscak wanted no part of Perez, and with only a debatable couple of blows landing, the fight was over.

Eddie Hearn must have been slightly disappointed the bout ended so soon, with Perez stating after his maiden 200 pound victory that he wants to be kept busy in 2017.

Without any evidence to back it up, it’s hard to comment on how good Perez looked, apart from his obvious physical attributes.

Also on the Belfast bill, James Tennyson halted Ryan Doyle in six rounds, whilst Paul Hyland Jnr wasted no time getting Adam Dingsdale out of there in the first.

There were also victories for Luke Watkins, Paddy Gallagher, Feargal McCrory and Tyrone McCullagh.