25
Sep
2020

Kell Brook in magnificent shape: Comparing his last three weigh-ins

WBN 26/05/2017

Amanda Westcott

Kell Brook looked in tremendous shape on Friday as the welterweight champion proved his doubters wrong in making 147 pounds comfortably.

The 31 year-old was attempting to make the weight for the first time in fourteen months having moved up to middleweight for a failed September challenge against Gennady Golovkin.

Despite the uncertainty, Brook came in with ounces to spare for his clash with Errol Spence Jr. and seemed happier than usual when chatting to the media in attendance.

Below, WBN looks back at the shape Brook was in for his last three weigh-ins against Spence, Golovkin and Kevin Bizier.

brook lustig weigh




March 2016 vs Kevin Bizier (Credit: Lawrence Lustig)

brook weigh GGG ll

September 2016 vs Gennady Golovkin (Credit: Lawrence Lustig)

brook westcott weigh 3

May 2017 vs Errol Spence Jr.

The difference in definition is considerable for Brook, who will blow up now he’s rehydrated but can expect to have far more speed after shedding the excess weight from Golovkin.

Making 147 and being so strict can also have an effect on Brook’s mindset and could make the Yorkshireman that much meaner come fight time.

Official weights:

SHOWTIME CHAMPIONSHIP BOXING® Live At 5:15 p.m. ET/2:15 p.m. PT

Kell Brook vs. Errol Spence Jr. – IBF Welterweight World Championship

Kell Brook – 146 ½ pounds

Errol Spence Jr. – 146 ¼ pounds

Live at approximately 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT exclusively in the U.S. on the SHOWTIME Sports Facebook page and the SHOWTIME Sports YouTube channel.

George Groves vs. Fedor Chudinov – vacant WBA Super Middleweight World Championship

George Groves – 167 ¼

Fedor Chudinov – 167