Fighter of the Year vote: Pacquiao, Crawford, Frampton remain cut adrift from Lomachenko

Ukrainian technician and amateur legend Vasyl Lomachenko remains hundreds of votes clear as the final furlong approaches in the race to be crowned WBN Fighter of the Year for 2016.

The two-weight world champion, who has achieved his amazing feat in just eight fights, continues to astound the boxing world with his sheer skill and ring craftsmanship as ‘Loma’ racks up the victories.

Wins over two seasoned world title holders in Nicholas Walters and Roman Martinez were enough to secure Lomachenko as Fighter of the Year nomination and WBN readers are so far voting to crown the 28 year-old their eventual victor in mid-January.

Over five thousand votes have been polled so far, with Lomachenko leading the way ahead of Northern Ireland’s Carl Frampton, rejuvenated former pound for pound king Manny Pacquiao and early leader Terence Crawford.

Past and present number ones in the world Roman ‘Chocolatito’ Gonzalez and light-heavyweight king Andre Ward both have some catching up to do if either of the current world rulers are to have a say in the outcome and take the brand-new trophy from three-time winner Gennady Golovkin.

Cast your vote for Fighter of the Year here:

Loading Poll…