Skip to content
Home » Full list of World Boxing Council fights mandated for 2017

Full list of World Boxing Council fights mandated for 2017

WBC President Mauricio Sulaiman discussed the situation with his Rankings Board in a bid to see some of the top fights come to fruition in 2017.

The likes of Deontay Wilder, Tony Bellew, Adonis Stevenson and Terence Crawford have obligations to adhere to, whilst the WBC are committed to helping Gennady Golovkin v Canelo Alvarez come to fruition by September.

Below is a full list of fights which are hoped will take place over the next twelve months:

Heavyweight: Deontay Wilder v Bermane Stiverne (or next available/eliminator)
Cruiserweight: Tony Bellew v Mairis Briedis or Marco Huck
Light-heavyweight: Adonis Stevenson v Eleider Alvarez or Lucian Bute
Super-middleweight: Badou Jack or James DeGale v Callum Smith
Middleweight: Gennady Golovkin v Canelo Alvarez*
Super-welterweight: Jermell Charlo v Charles Hatley
Welterweight: Danny Garcia v Timothy Bradley (or next available/eliminator)
Super-lightweight: Terence Crawford v Antonio Orozco or Amir Imam
Lightweight: Dejan Zlaticanin or Mikey Garcia v Jorge Linares or Anthony Crolla
Super-featherweight: Francisco Vargas v Miguel Berchelt
Featherweight: Gary Russell Jr. v Oscar Escandon
Super-bantamweight: Rey Vargas v Gavin McDonnell
Bantamweight: Shinsuke Yamanaka v Suriyan Sor Rungvisai (or next available/eliminator)
Super-flyweight: Roman Gonzalez or Carlos Cuadras v Srisaket Sor Rungvisai
Flyweight: Nawaphon Sor Rungvisai v Juan Hernandez
Light-flyweight: Ganigan Lopez (voluntary)
Minimumweight: Wanheng Menayothin (voluntary)

*The WBC have ordered a middleweight tournament to decide the mandatory for the title