Skip to content
Home » WBN Awards – Nominees: Fighter / Fight of the Year 2016

WBN Awards – Nominees: Fighter / Fight of the Year 2016

The nine categories this year are as follows:

WBN Fighter of the Year
Editor’s Choice (Fighter of the Year)
WBN Fight of the Year
WBN Young Fighter of the Year (23 under)
Pound for Pound Breakthrough
Stoppage of 2016
Trainer of the Year
Comeback of 2016
World Title Prospect of 2017

Below are the nominations for Fighter and Fight of the Year 2016 – 

WBN Fighter of the Year:

Terence Crawford

The super-lightweight king enjoyed a great year with three victories to cement his place as the best 140 pound fighter on the planet.

Vasyl Lomachenko

A successful move up to super-featherweight, coupled with two dominant performances over two world champions pushed Lomachenko into the WBN P4P Top 10.

Andre Ward

Ward finally made it to the number one spot on the WBN rankings with a light-heavyweight win over Sergey Kovalev.

Manny Pacquiao

Despite losing to Floyd Mayweather in 2015, Pacquiao regrouped and returned to regain his place as a world title holder.

Carl Frampton

Wins over Scott Quigg and Leo Santa Cruz placed Frampton as one of the most in-form fighters around.

Roman Gonzalez

Continuing his success from 2014 and 2015, ‘Chocolatito’ keeps enhancing his reputation year upon year and 2016 was no different.

WBN Fight of the Year:

Francisco Vargas v Orlando Salido (June)

A slugfest between two warrior that could have graced any ring in the world.

Anthony Crolla v Jorge Linares (September)

The pair gave everything at Manchester Arena and will do it again in the spring of 2017.

Andre Ward v Sergey Kovalev (November)

One of the most intriguing match-ups of the year saw a controversial result and hopefully a second helping to come.

Carl Frampton v Leo Santa Cruz (July)

Already slated to do it all again in the New Year, Frampton and Santa Cruz had fans on the edge of their seat for twelve rounds.

Winners of all WBN Awards will be announced in mid-January.

Voting for Fighter of the Year begins December 20.