Skip to content
Home » UK lead the way, four ahead of USA on world champions list

UK lead the way, four ahead of USA on world champions list

  • by
  • 2 min read

The United Kingdom is enjoying a purple patch at the top of the boxing tree as victories for cruiserweight Tony Bellew and super lightweight Ricky Burns took their world champion tally to thirteen.

Bellew and Burns, both 33, are currently signed to Matchroom boxing – taking Eddie Hearn’s haul to eight overall – with the other five coming from a trio of Frank Warren rulers. At the same time, Hennessy Sports and Sanigar Events have one each.

Last weekend, the UK put some distance between them and their rivals across the Atlantic. The USA currently lies second on nine current title holders. Mexico takes third place at eight, while Japan is fourth at seven.

Alongside Bellew and Burns under the Matchroom banner are IBF champions Anthony Joshua, James DeGale, Kell Brook, and Lee Selby. Also, Jamie McDonnell and Anthony Crolla currently hold WBA versions.

Conversely, Warren can boast Billy Joe Saunders, Liam Smith, and Terry Flanagan. Those three possess WBO belts. IBF bantamweight champion Lee Haskins and top division king Tyson Fury make up the impressive list as the sole champions are their respective promotional outfit.

The United States currently has Deontay Wilder, Daniel Jacobs, The Charlo Brothers, Jermall and Jermell, Keith Thurman, Jessie Vargas, and Danny Garcia at the welterweight limit, Terence Crawford at super lightweight, and finally Gary Russell Jr. at featherweight.

World Boxing Champions by country

United Kingdom 13
United States 9
Mexico 8
Japan 7
South Africa 5
Philippines 5
Germany 4
Russia 3
Puerto Rico 3
Thailand 3
Cuba 2
Ukraine 2
Kazakhstan 2
Dominican Rep 2
Nicaragua 2
Uzbekistan 1
Poland 1
Canada 1
Sweden 1
Italy 1
Venezuela 1
Panama 1
Argentina 1
Namibia 1

Follow experienced boxing news source World Boxing News on Facebook.