Ruenroeng, Braekhus, DeGale among IBF awards winners on May 26

IBF 13/05/2016

The IBF/USBA proudly announces its award recipients for 2015 to be presented at the Annual Banquet closing the organization’s 33rd Annual Convention at the Nuo Hotel in Beijing, China on May 26, 2016.

The Jersey Joe Walcott Award, the organization’s highest honor, will go to Amnat Ruenroeng for his remarkable accomplishments in the ring.

The IBF Female Fighter of the Year is Cecilia Braekhus, she is receiving the award for her successes in the ring, including becoming the first female undisputed champion.

IBF Fight of the Year – James DeGale vs. Lucien Bute

Female Fight of the Year – Jennifer Han vs. Helen Joseph

USBA Fight of the Year – Steve Cunningham vs. Vyacheslav Glazkov

Intercontinental Fight of the Year – Erik Skoglund vs. Olexsandr Cherviak

Pan Pacific Fight of the Year – Trent Broadhurst vs. Rob Powdrill

Most Title Defenses

IBF – Amnat Ruenroeng

Female – Leonela Yudica , Debora Dionicius , Naoko Shibata

USBA – Jesse Hart

Intercontinental – Albert Pagara , Jeff Horn , Marcello Matano

Pan Pacific – Pathomsith Pathompothong , Mike Tawatchai

Asia – Ye Joon Kim

Most Active Promoter IBF – TGB Promotions, Warriors Boxing

Female – Saita Promotions

USBA – Top Rank

Intercontinental – Boxe Loreni, Duco Events

Pan Pacific – Jimmy’s Boxing Asia – Buffalo Promotions

Championship Ring Recipients for 3 or more Successful Title Defenses

Amnat Ruenroeng
Victoria Bustos
Carolina Rodriguez
Naoko Shibata

The IBF/USBA also hosts its Meet the Champions cocktail during the convention. The event this year will take place on Tuesday, May 24 at 7PM at the Nuo Hotel. Several current and former IBF Champions have been invited to this event and are expected to attend including some of the aforementioned boxers along with Mike Tyson, Roy Jones, Jr., Katsunari Takayama and Phillip Holiday.

During the week of the convention, on Wednesday, May 25, the convention attendees will be treated to a World Championship Boxing Event. Amnat Ruenroeng will defend his IBF Flyweight title against Johnriel Casimero, headlining the card at the Diamond Stadium in Beijing. The event will also feature Xiong Zhao Zhong of China challenging Jose A. Jimenez of Colombia for the number one position in the IBF Mini-Flyweight division, and Samson Tor Buamas of Thailand vs Zongju Cai of China for the IBF Female Intercontinental Mini-Flyweight title.