England Elite National Championships: 18 champions crowned in Liverpool

GB Boxing 02/05/2016

The 129th England Boxing Elite National Championships 2016 saw Lisa Whiteside become a five time national champion and three other boxers become two-time winners this weekend at the Echo Arena Liverpool.

A total of 18 champions were crowned from across England covering the north east, the north west, London, Yorkshire & Humber, the west and east Midlands and the south coast.

Preston’s Lisa Whiteside (JR Gym) secured her second flyweight title with a unanimous victory over Jade Ashmore (Chesterfield), to add to the three she has won at bantamweight and featherweight, making her a five-time national champion.

Light-welterweights, Calum French (Birtley ABC) and Cherelle Brown (Islington ABC) were joined by middleweight Natasha Gale (Jubilee ABC) in securing their second national title on finals day.

Whiteside said: “A lot of people came to watch me today, so I was a lot more nervous than usual. I knew I was the favourite so there was a bit of pressure but I relaxed once I got in the ring and it was great to get the win. Becoming a five-time champion is a fantastic feeling and something I can very proud of.”

Two of the best bouts of the day came in the men’s lightweight and light-welterweight divisions.

The lightweight final saw Calum French secure a split decision win over Cory O’Regan (Bradford Police and College) to become a two-weight National champion and add to the bantamweight title he won in 2015.

A pulsating light-welterweight bout went to Danny Wright (Centurians) who outworked Mason Smith (Finchley and District) to secure a deserved victory and land the Mickey May Award for being the Best Boxer of the Championships.

Wright had been unseeded coming into finals weekend and was one of several boxers to upset the form book as a number of top seeds lost out on finals day.

In the men’s light-flyweight final, Kiaran MacDonald (Sunderland) overcame defending champion Sunny Edwards; unseeded William Cawley (Oldham) defeated Ismail Khan (KBW) to win at flyweight; Carl Fail got the better of Ekow Essuman (Bilborough) to take the welterweight crown; number two seed, Ben Whittaker, beat number one Jordan Reynolds at middleweight and both of the largest weights were won by unseeded boxers with Cheavon Clarke (Gravesham) winning at heavyweight and Alex Dickinson (Kirkby) ending the day at the super-heavyweight champion.

Full results from finals day are:

49kg Sunny Edwards (Steel City) #1 lost to Kiaran MacDonald (Sunderland) #2 pts split

48kg Tanya Dady (Earlsfield) #1 lost to Demi-Jade Resztan (New Astley) #2 pts unan

52kg William Cawley (Oldham) beat Ismail Khan (KBW) #3 pts unan

51kg Lisa Whiteside (JR Gym) #1 beat Jade Ashmore (Chesterfield) #2 pts unan

56kg Peter McGrail (Everton Red Triangle) #1 won by walkover v Liam Davies (Donnington Sports and Social)

54kg Rachael Mackenzie (H Hour) lost to Ramla Ali (London Community Boxing) #3 pts unan

60kg Calum French (Birtley) #1 beat Cory O’Regan (Bradford Police and College) #3 pts split

57kg Raven Chapman (Arena) #1 beat Hatty Nylon (Hebden Bridge) #3 pts split

64kg Danny Wright (Centurians) beat Mason Smith (Finchley and District) #2 pts unan

60kg Sandy Ryan (One Nation) #1 beat Louise Orton (St Mary’s) #3 pts unan

69kg Ekow Essuman (Bilborough) #1 lost to Carl Fail (Far Cotton) #2 pts unan

64kg Cherelle Brown (Islington) #1 beat Paige Murney (Leicester Unity) #3 pts split

75kg Jordan Reynolds (Hoddesdon) #1 lost to Ben Whittaker (Wodensbrough) #2 pts unan

69kg Stephanie Wroe (Army) #1 beat Laura Stevens (Far Cotton) #2 pts unan

81kg Tom Whittaker-Hart (Rotunda) #1 beat Lynden Arthur (Collyhurst and Moston) pts unan

75kg Natasha Gale (Jubilee) #1 beat Nikoletta Paksi (Repton) pts unan

91kg Cheavon Clarke (Gravesham) beat Chris Billam-Smith (Poole) #3 pts unan

91kg+ Chezerae Nihell (Army) #2 lost to Alex Dickinson (Kirkby) pts split