Exclusive: Peter Fury reacts to Tyson’s New Year honours snub

Phil Jay 31/12/2015

Boxing celebrated an MBE for IBF super bantamweight champion Carl Frampton on Wednesday as the Queen announced her New Year’s honours list for 2016.

Frampton, who travelled to America to defend his world title earlier this year, was honoured for his services to the sport as the Northern Irishman heads into the biggest fight of his life against Scott Quigg in February.

Despite the sport being recognised by Her Majesty, it was the omission of current world heavyweight king Tyson Fury that certainly raised an eyebrow or two. If Frampton was rewarded for his sterling efforts, surely Fury should be handed a similar honour for dethroning the long-reigning Wladimir Klitschko to become the biggest name in the top division.

Sadly, it seems recent negative publicity has played a part in Fury being rejected for a place on the list alongside such names as star jockey Tony McCoy, who received a knighthood for his remarkable achievements in horse racing.

Tyson’s trainer and uncle Peter outlined his reasons for the undefeated champion failing to be recognised despite the Briton with Irish heritage coming fourth on this year’s public vote for BBC Sports Personality of the year.

“First of all, I’m over the moon for Carl Frampton getting an MBE. But If you’re asking me why Tyson’s win is not recognised, then I believe it may be because we are not classed as British and unfortunately – by many we are disliked,” Fury exclusively told World Boxing News.


“However, I certainly feel blessed for being British and proud of who we are and the many millions who live in our country.

“All good people should be rewarded on their merits, but for us God is our reward. In his sight I only want to please and I thank God for all I have been given,” he added.

Fury trades blows with veteran Klitschko once again in the spring, so the same question could be raised in twelve months’ time should the 27 year-old repeat the feat and further extend his perfect C.V in 2016.