Eggington gets up to beat Evans; Yafai’s triumph; Macklin pushed

Phil Jay 17/10/2015

Sam Eggington climbed off the canvas in the second round and took some heavy shots towards the end before retaining his British and Commonwealth welterweight titles.

Opponent Dale Evans, who took the fight at ten days notice, had previously topped Eggington in a past Prizefighter tournament and almost proved a bogeyman once again for the champion.

Evans caught Eggington with a sweet right hand early on to drop him hard, although the home fighter rallied and subsequently began racking up the points.

Following twelve entertaining rounds, Eggington was rightly given the decision 117-110 twice and 116-110 in what proved to be an top-class climax to a quality night of boxing.

In the co-feature, Kal Yafai made further progression in his promising career by capturing the vacant British super flyweight title with a one-sided decision over Jason Cunningham.

Yafai, who is highly-touted for a world title chance, dominated Cunningham to see out a 120-107 twice and 119-108 triumph with the judges.

Matthew Macklin made a successful move down in weight by out-pointing a game Jason Welborn, although the Irishman looked far from a top contender at the weight.

Both fighters seemed evenly matched, despite the predicted gulf in class, as the three-time world middleweight title challenger took a 96-94 twice and 97-93 points victory.

A chance at a recognised belt at 154 looks far from happening for Macklin on this form though as the crowd favourite contemplates facing better opposition in the future.

In the TV opener, Gamal Yafai moved closer to a shot at the Commonwealth super bantamweight title by carding a wide points win over Nasibu Ramadhani through ten rounds.

Karl Wiggins shocked pre-fight favourite Rob Hunt to claim the Midlands Arena welterweight title with a second round stoppage caused by a crushing right hand.

At middleweight, Craig Cunningham defeated Adam Jones on points over six rounds, whilst undefeated super lightweights Michael Rooney and Cori Gibbs made it nine and six victories respectively in the pro ranks with points victories over Liam Richards and Fonz Alexander.

Dan Breeze, Jordan Cooke and Zach Parker all scored wins to improve their perfect records.