27
Jan
2020

Canelo v Lara: US and UK running order/times

Phil Jay 12/07/2014

Canelo Alvarez and Erislandy Lara go toe-to-toe tonight at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas for the unofficial title of the best light-middleweight in the world.

As WBC and WBA 154lb title holder Floyd Mayweather remains down at welterweight, Canelo and Lara have the opportunity to stake their claim as the best pound for pound fighter in their division in what is expected to be a Fight of the Year contender.

Also on the bill, Johan Perez aims to build further on ending Paul Spadafora’s lengthy unbeaten record when he battles world title challenger Mauricio Herrera at light-welterweight. Juan Manuel Lopez fights Francisco Vargas for a considerable push up the super-featherweight rankings, whilst Abner Mares is pitted against Jonathan Oquendo in his quest for another title test at 126lbs.

Here is the pay-per-view running order for tonight:

Johan PEREZ v Mauricio HERRERA – 9:10pm ET / 2:10am UK
The Interim WBA Light-Welterweight Championship

Followed by

Juan Manuel LOPEZ v Francisco VARGAS – 10:00pm ET / 3:00am UK
WBO International & NABF Super-Featherweight Championships

Followed by

Abner MARES v Jonathan OQUENDO – 11:00pm ET / 4.00am UK
10×3 Minute Rounds at Featherweight

Followed by

Saul “Canelo” ALVAREZ v Erislandy LARA – 12:00pm ET / 5.00am UK
12×3 Minute Rounds at a 155lbs catchweight

Canelo v Lara is live from the MGM Grand in Las Vegas on Showtime PPV from 9pm ET / 6pm PT on July 12 and in the UK on BoxNation from 2am. To subscribe click BoxNation

Follow on Twitter @PhilDJay for tweets of upcoming news on WBN