31
Oct
2020

Live scorecard on WBN tonight: Ruslan Chagaev v Fres Oquendo

Phil Jay 06/07/2014

World Boxing News will be scoring live on site this Sunday night as former WBA heavyweight champion Ruslan Chagaev aims to regain the title he vacated in 2009 to challenge Wladimir Klitschko for his unified belts.

Unsuccesful on that occasion in Gelsenkirchen, Chagaev subsequently lost to Alexander Povetkin in a 2011 WBA title attempt, and now hopes to finally land the black and gold strap once again against Fres Oquendo.

Veteran Oquendo has a tale of hard luck stories all of his own and has waited a full decade for the opportunity to fight for a world crown having been defeated previously by Chris Byrd and John Ruiz.

The 41 year-old was on the verge of pulling out of the fight this week due to family troubles, but will take his place in the ring at the Ahmat Arena in Grozny to the disappointment of Shannon Briggs.

Ex-WBO title holder Briggs had agreed terms to fill in for Oquendo if the Cuban-born fighter failed to catch a Friday night flight to Russia, although ‘The Big O’ made it on time and the fight goes ahead as planned.

Log on to the WBN website from around 8pm BST / 3pm ET and 11pm MSK (Moscow Standard Time) to follow how the fight in scored. The fight is also live on BoxNation in the UK. To subscribe click BoxNation

Follow on Twitter @PhilDJay for tweets of upcoming news on WBN