WBN Awards 2011: The Nominees

Phil Jay 12/12/2011

Here are the Nominees for the World Boxing News Awards 2011. The Fighter of the Year category will be open for voting on December 18th to WBN readers. The Young Boxer of the Year and Prospect of 2011 have already been decided and will be announced on January 1st 2012.

Fighter of the Year:

Nonito Donaire
Wladimir Klitschko
Lamont Peterson
Erik Morales
Jorge Arce
Hernan Marquez
Timothy Bradley
Bernard Hopkins
Adrien Broner
Brandon Rios
Andre Ward
Abner Mares

Fight of the Year:

Hernan Marquez v Luis Concepcion I (April)
Victor Ortiz v Andre Berto (April)
Marcos Maidana v Erik Morales (April)
Jorge Arce v Wilfredo Vasquez Jr. (May)
George Groves v James DeGale (May)
Felix Sturm v Mathew Macklin (June)
Chris Edwards v Paul Edwards (June)
Delvin Rodriguez v Pawel Wolak I (July)
Liam Walsh v Paul Appleby (September)
Antonio DeMarco v Jorge Linares (October)
Nathan Cleverly v Tony Bellew (October)
Manny Pacquiao v Juan Manuel Marquez (November)
Alfredo Angulo v James Kirkland (November)
Lamont Peterson v Amir Khan (December)

Knockout of 2011:

Nonito Donaire v Montiel (February)
Andy Lee v McEwan (March)
Marco Antonio Rubio v Lemieux (April)
Nobuhiro Ishida v Kirkland (April)
Adrien Broner v Litzau (June)
Rico Ramos v Shimoda (July)
Kimbo Slice v Wade (August)
Floyd Mayweather v Ortiz (September)
Hernan Marquez v Concepcion II (October)
George Groves v Smith (November)
Michael Grant v Botha (November)
Mike Alvarado v Breidis Prescott (November)

Trainer of the Year:

Virgil Hunter
Robert Garcia
Freddie Roach
Emanuel Steward
Jose Morales
Joel Diaz
Romulo Quirarte

Comeback of 2011

Floyd Mayweather
Erik Morales
Andre Berto
Miguel Cotto
Antonio Tarver
James Kirkland
Brian Viloria

*Others may be added before results are final.