Mayweather set to eclipse Pacquiao with eighth world title

Phil Jay 12/09/2011

Five-weight world champion Floyd Mayweather Jr. is on the verge of capturing his eighth world title on Saturday night and if successful against WBC welterweight belt holder Victor Ortiz at the MGM Grand, will overtake arch-rival Manny Pacquiao in total recognised belts won.

The 34 year-old could claim the belt for the second time after previously reigning from 2006-2008 and eventually giving up the title. The strap was then claimed by Andre Berto who held it until April this year when he ran into a hungry Ortiz who took the famous green belt in a thriller.

‘Money’ picked up his first world championship at super-featherweight in 1998, beating the late Genaro Hernandez and has steadily moved through the weights picking up title after title to reach his current total of seven.

Pacquaio, 32, is himself on seven although the Filipino has gone through an incredible seven weight-classes to get there and with an international title at featherweight, has claimed eight titles in eight weight divisions which is an all-time record.

The American now has the chance to go one better than the ‘Pacman’ in full world titles if he can defeat the young pretender Ortiz and hopefully set-up a welterweight unification with the current WBO champion to give the world’s fans the fight they want see.

The two fighters’ world title record:

Floyd Mayweather (41-0, 25 KO’s)

WBC super-featherweight champion (OCT 98 – APR 02)
WBC lightweight champion (APR 02 – JUN 04)
WBC light-welterweight champion (JUN 05 – SEP 06)
IBF welterweight champion (APR 06 – OCT 06)
IBO welterweight champion (APR 06 – MAY 07)
WBC welterweight champion (NOV 06 – JUN 08)
WBC light-middlweight champion (MAY 07 – JUL 07)

Manny Pacquiao (53-3-2, 38 KO’s)

WBC flyweight champion (DEC 98 – SEP 99)
IBF super-bantamweight champion (JUN 01 – JUL 03)
WBC super-featherweight champion (MAR 08 – JUN 08)
WBC lightweight champion (JUN 08 – APR 09)
IBO light-welterweight champion (MAY 09 – NOV 09)
WBC light-Middleweight champion (NOV 10 – FEB 11)
WBO welterweight champion (NOV 09 – Present)